Quickest way to repair damaged chisel

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fobos8

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys

I'm a site carpenter and I'm frequently knackering up some of my chisels on "invisible" nails etc. The typical damage is around a 2mm chip/dent.

I have the DMT duosharp diamond stones course grits (black) through to the extra fine (green). I find these really good.

The problem is that it can take up to 40mins to take out the chip/dent even using the black extra course stone.

What can I do to speed up the initial repair to the chisel edge? Do I need to be looking at a grinding wheel? If so can someone recommend one that isn't gonna break the bank. If the consensus is that I do need a wheel I reckon I just need a basic one to restore broken edges?....

Thanks in advance, Andrew

I think you need to grind out those kind of defects.

I would go for a relatively cheap bench grinder with a Norton 3X stone on it - these are meant to be excellent for metal removal without overheating. You would then re-hone afterwards on your diamond stones as usual.

Cheers, Ed

How about a hand grinder like this

2littlehandgrinder.jpg

fix it in the van or...............a belt sander?

Lee

Hmm. . . are you left handed or right handed? I have my hand crank the other way.

Hi Andrew

If you are on site, then use a beltsander to grind out the chip. You could do this freehand, just approximating 25 degrees (keep a model as a reference on hand). Follow this with your diamond stones. This may be sharp enough for what you want. If not, I'd add a leather strop (using Veritas green rouge) to your arsenal.

If you were doing up an edge for a workshop, then I'd use a grinder.

Regards from Perth

Derek