Quick Blade Question.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shaggy

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm new to Scrolling and the Cheap Blades that came with the saw don't seem as sharp as they did so I'm going to get some new ones.
I did order a set of Spiral Blades to try but the flat blade adapters for my saw are very fiddly and the spiral blades where that thin (size 0) I broke two of them before I even managed to cut quarter of an inch :( .
I think I saw somewhere that some people use number 7 blades most, but when I've had a quick look on Amazon at the blades they don't mention blade numbers just teeth per inch or something similar (please excuse my ingnorance :oops: ).

So what size/tpi should I get as general purpose blades? I think I'll stick to pinned blades for now as trying the blade adapters nearly had me taking a hammer to the saw (hammer) #-o .

hi, I get all mine from axminster, they have loads of choices, my local one is half hour away so not too bad,maybe see if there is one local to you,or they deliver and theres free delivery on orders over £30

Hi Shaggy, welcome to the forum. I think you said you had an Aldi scroll saw right? If so, it is probably a generic saw like the Record Power, Sheppach etc. (I have a Record Power SSV 16). Firstly I would advise you to get a set of quick release blade clamps. I got mine from NMA Agencies for around £19. (They are not shown on their web site so you will need to ring them and ask specifically for them). Believe me they will make life so much easier and scrolling much more
Enjoyable.

Secondly, blade choice is entirely a matter of personal preference, but I would say that quality blades are essential. Personally I use Pegas blades from Axminster Tools, and my normal size choices are numbers 2, 3 and 5 skip tooth.

Hope this helps a bit and happy scrolling.

Charley