Questions from a beginner

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JanetsBears

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to this scroll saw stuff so would appreciate any hints and tips that anybody can throw my way, particularly in relation to a few specific questions I have...

1. Beginner's Drift
20170219_200458b.jpg

I've done quite a lot of these since getting my scroll saw as they seem to be pretty good practice and I've left the waste in the picture to make it easier to see the lines and cut. I am improving, but still not too brilliant when it comes to following lines. Most have been cut from a decent quality pine (if there is such a thing!) and it's clear that most of my problems are on the transition between cutting along the grain of the wood and cutting across the grain. I tend to find the project almost pushes itself past the blade as it starts cutting across the grain. I know the blade I was using (Pegas 5 skip/reverse in this case) cuts better across the grain so I try to make an effort to slow down a bit as I turn across the grain but are there any tips anybody can give on techniques to improve my line following? The next photo shows it popped out, tape removed and sat next to a bear made from some of our granddaughter's old baby clothes, all ready for my wife to decorate - she's got a big list of words she wants cutting, so I have plenty of practice ahead of me!
20170219_201114b.jpg

2. Blade Life