Project advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

spaceghost

Reaction score
Hi all, beginner here hoping to get some advice!

I've attached a picture of a metal fence that I'd like to recreate in wood. I'm only copying the design, not the function, as mine will be going outside as a garden fence. My questions are:

1. I'm struggling to get hold of wood of the right size - approximately 25mm square. I've learned over time that if something simple seems very difficult it's usually because I'm trying to do something wrong! What should I be looking for when trying to source external use timber of these dimensions?

2. What sort of joint would be most appropriate for this project? This is a decorative fence so doesn't need to be super-robust.

Thanks in advance. I promise to follow up with photos of the finished thing if I get that far :D

Attachments

• adf.jpeg
    adf.jpeg
    159.7 KB · Views: 46
Last edited:
If the image shows simply the metal version and you wish to make a wooden version for the same purpose then I suggest that the statement " This is a decorative fence so doesn't need to be super-robust." is very wrong. It looks to be a barrier to protect anyone falling down the open stairwell so will need to be robust enough to withstand someone falling against it at least.

To get timber in 'real' size you will have to ignore the sheds (B&Q et al) and find a supplier of hardwoods - Oak, Beech etc. who will machine to your specification. It might be better to look at the likes of Richard Burbidge or Stairparts Direct -- at least for the handrail part.

It looks to me as if you need at least two different sizes, one for the top, bottom, end and corner and another for the infill staves.