Poolewood 28-40: Outboard turning.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi,
Newly joined up member here. I have been turning for approx 20 years off and on currently based near Loughborough. Having had a career change last year (I don't like using the "Retired" word), i have had more time to fiddle with wood. Been using a Tyme Cub up to now and was pushing it to it's limits, so decided to look for something a wee bit more solid. Recently acquired a Poolewood 28-40 which I hope is more than solid enough for what I want to do. However I need to swivel the head-stock in order to do larger pieces and to make it more comfortable. I have searched the forum for ideas and there was one member that posted a home made scaffolding pole rig for turning outboard that looked quite good. But also considering a free standing toolrest. I could get the latter made up at an engineering works. I wondered if anyone has plans or suggestions for either a free standing or similar bolted on device? Not really expecting to turn huge items, but may be tempted to work up to a large platter that needs the freedom of a free-standing toolrest.

Also is anyone aware of any Poolewood 28-40 accessories/spare that anyone is looking to offload? Such as a small toolrest, banjo, small faceplates.

Thanks in advance for any ideas.

ZenDogOfSunshine":123uygql said:
Also is anyone aware of any Poolewood 28-40 accessories/spare that anyone is looking to offload? Such as a small toolrest, banjo, small faceplates.

Can't help with your basic outboard turning requirements but a word of caution on spare accessories.

Poolwood 28-40/ 38-40 etc. denomination was subject to several design changes over the years, beware that centre heights, bar spacing, castings and spindle threads can vary considerably between the different incarnations.