Plane Knowledge Required

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mikegtr

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
I am looking to buy a quality second-hand No. 3 plane. My knowledge of planes is quite limeted--hence question:

Which is best for quality?
Stanley Bailey / Stanley / Stanley's made today / Vintage Record / Record?

Being an occasional woodworker it does merrit the top of the line planes available today.

Look forward to your replies.
Many thanks.

best ones are i-sorby or woden if you can find one, but the old stanleys and records are good too, ideally pre-war era if you can find one.

I have an old Stanley No 3 that I stole off my Dad in the 1980s when I was an apprentice. It never lets me down. This and my block plane used to be the only planes that travel with me out of the workshop when I go to fit items that I have made in customer’s properties. However, about 12 years ago one of the Dad’s whose kid I coached at football gave me an old cheapo number 3; it is a Stanley clone marked ‘Silverline’ and is probably from the 80s. I sharpened it up and it is just as good as the Stanley and it has now become the plane that travels. Apologies for being longwinded but all that was a round about way to say that you can get great results from older non-famous name planemakers if the blade is okay and you can sharpen.

Ps. I have never owned or even used any of the makes of planes that are the focus of so much fetishism; Veritas, Lie-Nielsen etc. Maybe they are somehow a next level above the wooden planes and Stanley planes that I use in my joinery shop but I seem to get along alright.

Last edited:
I've got a Stanley 3 which is a perfectly good plane. It has a plastic handle which you'd hardly notice and it seems to have no bearing on the quality.

Last edited:
First question, why do you want a no 3 rather than a 4?