Plane Crazy

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattMoore

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi folks, well, this is my first post after stumbling upon this forum via the latest good woodworking issue, and it is one regarding hand tools.
i am an apprentice carpenter, working with my father who is a trained pattern maker,
but now has turned his hand to kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, window,
conservatory installation, and manufacture. this has all been a great learning curve for me, but being as it is mostly on site,
my hand tools seem get a bit if a battering. i wish to start making items in my spare time,
and so i would like to start building up another set of hand tools, simply to keep in the shed.
as with every tool i purchase, i want the best that i can afford,
and one which will give me years of good service, so my question is,
in your eyes, where is the best place to start with building up a hand tool collection?
i would like to get a high quality set, but only tools i will frequently use,
instead of tools that seem like a good idea at the time,. but never get used
so what handtools do you use in your workshops mainly?
the first project i have in mind is that of a jewellery box for my mother.
so any help will be greatly appreciated! :D

Welcome aboard Matt...

what tools to get really depends on which direction you want to go in, and how you want to get there... Generally, the two best areas to start with are hand planes and chisels; both offer tons of scope, both capable of lasting several lifetimes if properly looked after, and both available in a wide range of prices from a broad range of manufacturers covering most budgets.. as ever, the basic rule is you generally get what you pay for; buy cheap and you'll pay dear...

Welcome Matt,

What Midnight said really, plus, maybe and/or
a dovetail/tenon saw, engineers square, mitre gauge........