Pigment advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lijongtao

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all

Last year I did a 16-week French polishing course. I really enjoyed it so have invested in some kit etc.
My inlaws have asked me to repair their table which was french polished but I need some darker pigment, well all sorts of pigments as I haven't got any at all.
I am looking for the powdered ones we used in class but don't know where to buy them from. I'd ask the old teacher but he isn't well and I don't wish to bother him. Can anyone point me in the right direction, where to buy, which ones are best, what colours would be used the most and any other info, please? I am a very beginner at this

Thank you Li

Hi all

Last year I did a 16-week French polishing course. I really enjoyed it so have invested in some kit etc.
My inlaws have asked me to repair their table which was french polished but I need some darker pigment, well all sorts of pigments as I haven't got any at all.
I am looking for the powdered ones we used in class but don't know where to buy them from. I'd ask the old teacher but he isn't well and I don't wish to bother him. Can anyone point me in the right direction, where to buy, which ones are best, what colours would be used the most and any other info, please? I am a very beginner at this

Thank you Li
The little I have done did not use a pigment in the finish but on the surface before the finish.

It is for a colour match prior to the polish.
OK in that case it doesn’t need to soluble in alcohol, though you may have fewer problems if it is.
Wood dye Is one source this is one of the sets that may be a good match
24DFAE5F-775A-4C44-8860-DE6EAF28E01B.png
Or search google for aniline dye powder

don‘t forget you must do a test On a sample board of both the dye and dye with finish over first

Hi Li.
Welcome to the forum.