Picked up a Kity K5

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

johnny5

Established Member
Joined
30 Jun 2013
Messages
57
Reaction score
0
Location
carmarthenshire
I know this question has been done to death about changing the 15mm spindle moulder on the City K5 .
The one i bought has a 15mm spindle that holds french cutters,
has there been any new recent adaption that i can purchase so i can change it to a more modern spindle block cutter preferably with a 15mm spindle.
 

Attachments

  • E3E125E4-4613-418D-BDBF-6B78EE3F382E.jpeg
    E3E125E4-4613-418D-BDBF-6B78EE3F382E.jpeg
    197.8 KB · Views: 59
  • 013D2344-B7EA-4B48-8120-140A109DF015.jpeg
    013D2344-B7EA-4B48-8120-140A109DF015.jpeg
    172.1 KB · Views: 59
  • D6052DAC-5BE5-4D23-A8D4-37D2477AEA9E.jpeg
    D6052DAC-5BE5-4D23-A8D4-37D2477AEA9E.jpeg
    153.5 KB · Views: 57
  • D32B6F13-18B1-42EE-BE8E-55B47D2B3AF8.jpeg
    D32B6F13-18B1-42EE-BE8E-55B47D2B3AF8.jpeg
    159.6 KB · Views: 57

johnny5

Established Member
Joined
30 Jun 2013
Messages
57
Reaction score
0
Location
carmarthenshire
I think 30mm is the standard for spindles now but i could be wrong:unsure:
Thats what i have found, there are a couple of old 20mm spindles for sale i have seen , there must be a way of adapting them to fit ??
Just asking as the Spindle moulder will be useless to me on the K5.
 

baldkev

Established Member
Joined
29 Apr 2020
Messages
1,567
Reaction score
704
Location
devon
Well now, you might be in luck..... i have a kity bestcombi spindle section sat in the workshop somewhere. I'll have to dig it out and get you photos to compare. Yours for postage costs and a cider if it fits
 

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
715
Reaction score
239
Location
Inverness
To convert to standard tooling, which is 30mm bore, you’ll need a pair of top hat reducing bushes. I can’t see any available that will suit a 15 or 20mm spindle, but they could easily be custom made. You might be pushing things a bit with respect to spindle strength and motor power, however. Aluminium, rather than steel, blocks would be a better choice.

If you can get a 20mm spindle from baldkev, then there’s a good chance of finding tooling on ebay that will run just fine, like this rebate block that Trevanion found:

 

baldkev

Established Member
Joined
29 Apr 2020
Messages
1,567
Reaction score
704
Location
devon
It is 30mm shaft.... this came off a bestcombi 2000 i think. Let me know if you want any measurements etc
 

Attachments

  • 20211106_121950.jpg
    20211106_121950.jpg
    118.8 KB · Views: 16
  • 20211106_121735.jpg
    20211106_121735.jpg
    117.9 KB · Views: 15

baldkev

Established Member
Joined
29 Apr 2020
Messages
1,567
Reaction score
704
Location
devon
I was thinking you would swap the spindle for this 30mm if it fitted?
 

Lons

Established Member
Joined
14 Feb 2010
Messages
7,994
Reaction score
680
Location
Northumberland
The way you worded your question is a bit misleading Johnny. The way I understand it is that you want to use a standard 30mm bore cutter block on your machine that is equipped with a 15mm spindle shaft, is that correct?
In which case the only way you're likely to do so is as guineafowl21 says and obtain some top hat washers, they are pretty simple and if you can't find them then any engineering company or hobbyist with a half decent lathe can make some up for you, best in steel but at a pinch brass or alloy will suffice. The chance of you finding an off the shelf block with 15mm bore to fit is very slim though stranger things have happened and I'd think ebay is your only hope for that.
Mine is the M2 version, next one after yours with 20mm shaft and I had some washers made up for me at little cost. Be careful that you don't buy a block too large, the Kity ones were 78mm dia from memory and made from alloy.

You might find the attached scans of general interest for your machine.
Bob
Old K5 leaflet 1.jpg
Old K5 leaflet 2.jpg
Old K5 leaflet 3.jpg
Old K5 leaflet 4.jpg
 

Wildman

Established Member
Joined
30 Jan 2012
Messages
1,045
Reaction score
80
Location
Ilfracombe
Well now, you might be in luck..... i have a kity bestcombi spindle section sat in the workshop somewhere. I'll have to dig it out and get you photos to compare. Yours for postage costs and a cider if it fits
and if he does not want it I would most certainly make use of it.
 

johnny5

Established Member
Joined
30 Jun 2013
Messages
57
Reaction score
0
Location
carmarthenshire
The way you worded your question is a bit misleading Johnny. The way I understand it is that you want to use a standard 30mm bore cutter block on your machine that is equipped with a 15mm spindle shaft, is that correct?
In which case the only way you're likely to do so is as guineafowl21 says and obtain some top hat washers, they are pretty simple and if you can't find them then any engineering company or hobbyist with a half decent lathe can make some up for you, best in steel but at a pinch brass or alloy will suffice. The chance of you finding an off the shelf block with 15mm bore to fit is very slim though stranger things have happened and I'd think ebay is your only hope for that.
Mine is the M2 version, next one after yours with 20mm shaft and I had some washers made up for me at little cost. Be careful that you don't buy a block too large, the Kity ones were 78mm dia from memory and made from alloy.

You might find the attached scans of general interest for your machine.
BobView attachment 121475 View attachment 121476 View attachment 121477 View attachment 121478
I have managed to pick up a City 20mm bore spindle , 32mm x 78mm . What i need is a top hat washer to convert the 15mm shaft to 20mm . If anyone has one or can make me one i will obviously pay for materials and labour.
 

Attachments

  • 99E50DF1-78FD-4AAA-84DD-9E078A28875A.jpeg
    99E50DF1-78FD-4AAA-84DD-9E078A28875A.jpeg
    119.8 KB · Views: 3

guineafowl21

Established Member
Joined
28 Oct 2015
Messages
715
Reaction score
239
Location
Inverness
I have managed to pick up a City 20mm bore spindle , 32mm x 78mm . What i need is a top hat washer to convert the 15mm shaft to 20mm . If anyone has one or can make me one i will obviously pay for materials and labour.
That’s a cutterblock, not a spindle. The spindle is the shaft it fits onto.

Your best bet would be to take the block and spindle into an engineering shop so they can verify a good fit when they make the top hat bushes, of which you’ll need two.
 

Lons

Established Member
Joined
14 Feb 2010
Messages
7,994
Reaction score
680
Location
Northumberland
What Guineafowl said Johnny, there will almost certainly be some small engineering shops near you and a couple of top hat washes is simple stuff so shouldn't cost much. I have a metal working lathe but it's very small and would struggle or I'd offer, why don't you put a wanted post on here in the metal forum or join one of the metalworking forums around I'm sure someone can help. From memory the early K5 spindle was a precise 15mm but that cutter block bore will need to be checked.
 

BarryTheBear

New member
Joined
25 Jun 2022
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Location
Germany
It is 30mm shaft.... this came off a bestcombi 2000 i think. Let me know if you want any measurements etc
Hi I saw you message regarding the kity spindle molder I have a K5 best combi with a 15mm molder but its broken is the one you have still available and how much do you want for it? We are using the kity to renovate our old farmhouse in Germany
 

baldkev

Established Member
Joined
29 Apr 2020
Messages
1,567
Reaction score
704
Location
devon
Hi Barry,
Yes its still in the workshop somewhere. Its yours for the postage cost 👍 p.m me
 

clogs

just can't decide
Joined
24 Jul 2020
Messages
1,618
Reaction score
905
Location
Vamos, Crete, GREECE.......
it's a long shot but I'm sure if u look on leboncoin.fr u may find tooling and parts....
Dont we have a few members over there.....
I'd have helped but long gone from FR...
 

Latest posts

Top