Options for small workshop dust extraction

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrmoose

Established Member
Reaction score
I am a sole trader running a domestic carpentry business and do around a third of my work in my workshop, which is a small single garage. I am currently looking to overhaul my dust extraction system which at the moment consists of a festool mini extractor.
As I do work a lot with MDF but use mainly small power tools, (the only larger ports being on the table saw and router table) I would like to set up a cyclone system with a dedicated extractor to extract the fine particles outside the workshop. I see no need to to pay a lot money for a high quality unit if the fine particles will be extracted outside, however I am unsure as to what type of blower/extractor can do this.
I have no room outside of the workshop for anything and would like any extraction unit to be as quiet as possible.
I only need one hose from the extractor of around 3m on a boom arm so have narrowed my thoughts down to the following :

A) Get a cheap extractor for around say £150 stick it in a cupboard and have a normal bathroom extractor fan taking the air out of the cupboard to the outside via say three metres of ducting?
B) Find a more powerful extractor fan that (via a cyclone) a 40mm hose could be connected directly to?
C) Find an extractor vac that has a blower function, the hose from that, ducting outside the workshop.
D) Tools trigger switch on extractor via ring mains circuit, options?

Any advice on these options would be greatly appreciated.

have a look at this book it;s quite good

Attachments

• DSCF8231.jpg
    DSCF8231.jpg
    52.2 KB · Views: 328
My concern whenever some says they will blow the dust outside, I always ask "where outside"?