Number of polyurethane coats before I can polish?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BishBashBosh

Reaction score
Hi All,

My first post on UK Workshop so please forgive me in advance if my question has been answered before.

I am new to woodworking and have read a lot of information regarding working with polyurethane to finish a project. I have recently built a table top, which I intend to finish with poly, but cannot find anything concrete around the number of poly coats required before I can safely polish my table top.

I have purchased a gloss polyurethane and my aim is to finish my table top to closely resemble a glass look finish. The manufacturers guidelines recommend applying 3 to 4 coats of poly, which appears to be the norm, but I am worried 4 coats of poly will not be enough for me to then begin buffing/polishing to get that glass look finish.

Will 4 coats of ploy be enough or would I burn though these coats whilst polishing? Would anyone recommend applying more coats to be safe?

Thank you in advance.

The number of coats recommended is only a guide, you will need to keep applying until the grain is completely full. If your table top is beech you may only need two coats but if it is one of these asian mahogany lookalikes you may need four or five coats.
How do you intend to buff/polish to get that full gloss finish?

If you really want a glass look you will need to wet sand level once the finish has fully cured. Start at say 300 grit and work up to 1000 or 2000. Then buff. Automotive compound will get you a nice shine at that point, but full gloss will require further buffing with finer compounds.

If you do achieve a glass finish you won't want to use the table, of course, because the slightest mark or fingerprint will be glaringly visible!