Novice copper pipe soldering

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
One quick thought if some work will be on display. You might like to use some stainless steel or chrome plated copper pipes. I'm pretty sure that you can't solder to those so would have to use compression or pushfit fittings.

Just adding to whats been said really.

I've done my kitchen, one bathroom and downstairs utility/toilet rooms without problem, all self taught. I've not done radiators before. The person who installed our house when it was built might not have done either judging by the creaks and groans every time it starts up - pipes need room to expand without rubbing against the joists.

I had a tendency with end feed to put in 'a bit extra just in case' when I started out, the joints look messy. You quickly get the feel for it and stop adding solder when you see a complete ring all the way around. It's very satisfying. I've got an old camping gaz branded blowlamp (must be 40+ years old) which does the job, you can get butane propane mix canisters for it and for most blowlamps. They are a bit more efficient than just butane, especially if you are working out of doors in winter. Neither comes close to MAPP but are hot enough for pipe soldering if you already have a blowlamp.

By way of self-training, you can always re-heat and pull apart a couple of joints and that will give you a good idea of how well the solder flowed into the joint. You could test yourself by making up a closed circuit with just one open end (T, 3 bends, 5 short lengths of tube) , carefully fill it with water under a tap then pop a hose on to the open end with jubilee clip and bring up to full pressure. No leaks - hose will blow off first. Hardly necessary but might add to confidence.

Did somebody mention clean .....

If I might add to all the excellent advice above.