Noobs needs help with hand planing!!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LuptonM

Established Member
Reaction score
A short intro before we get right down to business ( a long first post BTW):

I am a 20 yr old student who goes by the name of 'Marc' whom is attempting to make something out of wood (no previous experience nor knows anyone who knows what they're doing- whats with these old ppl and they're oil stones and their can of spam under the stairs?)

Anyway I am having trouble making shavings with a hand plane I got from a carboot (a stanley bailey no 4 - originally had beech handles)

I am a little confused since I've never used a hand plane so I am not sure what to expect. Since I am having trouble I'll go through my sharpening process as well

I've lapped the sole with some wet and dry on some float glass to make sure the sole is flat. I also grinded the blade on a whetstone grinder at 25 degrees on one of these http://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-ax ... rod781392/ (my dad has one since I suggested he should buy one to clean up his chisels as my mum uses them to open paint tins and they are in a shocking state).

I then used a axminster basic honing guide (BTW the projections are hard to read on it since the writing just looks like a blob due to the poor casting)
to fine tune the grinding on some sandpaper up to p500 sand paper.

I then flattened the back of the blade on p80 intiitally and then all the way up to the 0.3 micron paper that workshop heaven sells (I did use p240,p400,p600, p800,p1500,p2500, 1micron intermediate grits to make sure I did a good job)

After the back was flat I honed the cutting edge at 30 degrees from p800 to 0.3 micron sand paper. On the 0.3 micron sandpaper I tried to remove the wire edge by alternating between honing and flattening the back for 3 strokes a couple of times.