newbie wants advice on what lathe

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

breezey

Reaction score
hi all,
im a builder but always enjoyed the carpentry side more than the rest, now looking for a lathe for the workshop, my main interest at the moment is bowls and platters, so want something suitable for these, considered a record cl1 or 3 but bought a bs300 bandsaw in dec' ok but quality not as it used to be from record and heard a few others complained, for £300 - £400 should i buy a 2nd hand myford L8, union graduate, teknatool nova3000 or similar or buy new. HELP im not doing any turning but still going round in ever decreasing circles.

Welcome to the forum Breezy

I do a bit of turning but I'm not experienced to give you a definitive answer. There's plenty on here that are & I'm sure they'll be along in a minute. There's also a specific 'Turning' forum on here.

Yhe AWGB (Association of woodturners of Great Britain) are very friendly and helpful also. If you have time look them up on Google.

Welcome along, breezey!

Lathes are a bit like cameras, there's a lot of very personal opinions on them, much of it related to very personal preferences and experiences.

I'd consider the following specification to be fairly "future-proof":

Variable-speed motor of at least 1HP
The variable speed is very useful for "tuning out" imbalance in a workpiece, as well as simply varying the rotational speed. I prefer the motor to drive the headstock via three pulleys - this tends to deliver more torque than a direct drive VS motor and has other advantages too.

Distance between headstock and tailstock of around 40"
This will allow you to cope with ballusters, etc. It's possible to get a shorter lathe that accepts bed extensions, so that you could literally "grow into" it if you felt that this was a bit on the large side to start with.

Swivelling headstock