• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Newbie advise

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

Michael Lewis

Reaction score
HI,

I'm new to woodworking and need some advise on a project: I'm going to make my son a chess board/table and had a look at some tutorials on YouTube - "end grain chess boards". My query is - do you think I'd be able to use a track saw with a rip cut guide for precise (repetitive) cuts rather than a table saw?

(conceptually it seems simple : glue walnut x maple x 8 , wait to dry, rotate 90 degrees and make 8 equal width cuts - re-glue).

I ask as I don't have that much space and hence getting a track saw is preferable to a table saw - unless this sort of thing really requires a table saw?

Thanks in advance for any opinions/advise...

BigMonka

Established Member
Reaction score
Welcome Michael!
I don't see why it couldn't be done with a track saw, and managing to do things with less tools is always preferable to buying something big specifically for it (particularly as a cheap table saw may be more hassle than it's worth).
Have a look on Youtube for the tracksaw workshop series from Peter Millard (who posts here) - he shows good ways of doing repetitive cuts etc. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JQjGwZT3Ak

ED65

Established Member
Reaction score
Are you fixed on the idea of doing this using end-grain pieces? It can look just as good, if not better, using the long-grain surfaces. Plus the resulting piece is easier to finish to a high standard.

I don't think this is a job that screams: buy a track saw! Get one if you want one and you're sure you will have lots of future use for it by all means, but a track saw to make a chessboard is bit like buying a sledgehammer to crack an egg.

Had you considered hand tools at all? They take up less space, and anything half decent lasts indefinitely so they're a great long-term investment.

Stanleymonkey

Established Member
Reaction score
Welcome Michael