New to using a lathe

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Big Steve

Reaction score
Evening all, as stated in title I am new to the world of wood lathes. The problem I'm having is I'm after a 4 jaw chuck for my lathe which has a 3/4 shaft. So far I'm drawing a blank as to what I need as the one's I have looked at require back plates. I've a rough understanding but obviously not enough. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hello Big Steve and welcome! First step is to work out the exact spindle thread you have, if it's 3/4" diameter it is likely 16 threads per inch but may be different. Once you know this you should be able to find a chuck with the correct thread, either with a backplate or sometimes a small threaded insert goes in the back of the chuck.

I suspect that you are looking at the wrong thing, and are instead looking at engineering chucks. There may be others but other than the versachuck, woodturning chucks generally don't have backplates but have inserts or are directly threaded. Have a look at record Ower, charnwood, Axminster and take it from there.

I would post details of the lathe that you have, we can probably identify the thread for you if it is a common one.

I suspect that you are looking at the wrong thing, and are instead looking at engineering chucks. There may be others but other than the versachuck, woodturning chucks generally don't have backplates but have inserts or are directly threaded. Have a look at record Ower, charnwood, Axminster and take it from there.

I would post details of the lathe that you have, we can probably identify the thread for you if it is a common one.
Thankyou for prompt reply I have a hilta 900 lathe

I suspect the name is Hilka not Hilta.
You are looking for a 4 jaw scroll chuck. The scroll means the jaws are self centering rather than independent.