mystery tool - spud?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dannyr

Established Member
Reaction score
aspud.JPG

found this in the scrap metal pile at our allotment site - no-one claimed any knowledge - replaced rotten wood handle with similar (original also like a short T-handle spade handle but a bit thinner) - shaft and tang were very pitted blade somewhat and steeled or smithed front inch or so of blade much less pitted. there is no bolster to the shaft (I wedged a thick washer there)

with a file test the shaft is harder than the iron ferrule and the front of the blade is harder still but not as hard as the file, on the grinder, both shaft and blade spark like carbon steel, but I'm no expert (and the shaft doesn't have the 'woodgrain' type corrosion of wrought iron, just heavy pitting)

the whole tool is 28ins long (700mm) and the blade (slight curve back, but no gouge curve) is 3 1/4ins wide (80mm) with a flat back like a chisel and only the top with a bevel, angled nicely to the shaft as with a boatbuilders slick
aspud.JPG

Poss 1 -- barking spud (lovely name) - tried debarking, works fine but the bark was falling off the log anyway, The only thing is a barking spud is not usually sharp as it might dig in rather than split away and this had definitely been pretty sharp

Poss 2 -- a rather different slick (large paring hand chisel) (it might be a bit too wide, but the T handle would help -would probably have to re-harden to get the best edge

Poss 3 -- the correct answer, thanks to you

About the only horticultural item I can think of that's close to that is an asparagus knife. Or maybe a thing for scraping moss of paving slabs.

Could be a fire iron of some sort? Coke fired CH boilers etc.

My guess would be that is was used as a small hoe; not sure if that's what it was originally though.. The handle looks like it was from a dibber