Myblo thicknesser / planer

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tyfaenor

Reaction score
Hi to all,

I have just acquired a 'Myblo' 6" planer / thicknesser. It's a bench design and pretty small, but will probably suit my needs.

However, I have two very old hand-typed pages with it. I am new to using a planer/thicknesser, so am not sure if that is all there is for it. Given its age, it's no surprise there seems to be precious little out there in the 'net'. The Myblo Woodworking Machinery Company Ltd. has been disolved which is all that I have been able to discover so far.

Anyone got any information about this little beauty? Failing that any general advice alread here about using a planer/ticknesser that I can 'pointed at'.

Happy to post pictures, or whatever else might be needed if it would be useful, or of interest.

Thank you.

Hi- somewhat late as i have only recently joined up. I have a myblo 6 inch planer, bought new in '86, added own motor, came with a little bit of duplicated info . Cracking machine, would not part with it. I presume it's got an overhead thicknessing plate, which i do not have. What info do you need?

I have one of these and it's a very well made machine. My question is this, how is the top thicknesses plate used? It is held onto the rear bed by cam pins and in some way sets the thickness of the cut but despite scratching my head I can't figure it out.

Hi, I have an older Mybro 6" planer. The motor is dated 1961 and it's made of cast iron and very heavy. When I bought it, it came with a top thicknesses plate that holds onto the planer bed with eccentric pins. Does anyone know how this operates as I'm scratching my head. It's a good little machine and very quiet when running. Thanks Paul

Attachments

• IMG_20230813_103632.jpg
    IMG_20230813_103632.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 0