My SketchUp Basics

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AnotherEye

Reaction score
I'm a London based designer/maker and I've just joined this forum. I thought I'd make this my first contribution.
Whether or not you've ever used SketchUp before; follow this little tutorial and you will learn a few things that will make a big difference to your modelling in the future. I've been using SU for over 3 years and I use this method every time. Before I discovered it I got myself in a mess from time to time, now I don't.

I'm going to assume that the free version of SU is much the same as SU5, Mac version, (which I am familiar with) if you're using SU6pro, or are in Windows, there might be a few differences.
There are a number of keyboard shortcuts that I use but I've not mentioned them in this tutorial; instead I've used menus throughout.

Here I'm going to show you how to create a template for a basic carcass.

Open a new window in SU. Click on the 'Iso' button in the standard views (or: Camera>Standard>Iso). Invariably it is easier to draw in this view.
Make sure that the axis are visible ((View>Axis).
Go to: Window>Model Info>Units and select your preference (I have: Decimal, Millimetres, Precision: 0mm). In the Window menu open the 'Layers'; 'Display Settings'; 'Pages' and the 'Entity Info' windows. Position them where you want as you're going to keep them permanently open.