My first post - do I need to go shopping yet?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Martin_S

Established Member
Reaction score
My dad (a plumber by trade - old school, he thought copper was for wimps) used to tell me that carpenters only used saws and hammers and made joists and rafters and the like, joiners were more skilled and had more tools and could make doors and things and cabinet makers were the really skilled woodworkers who could make most anything.

On his scale, I have got through life with some basic carpentry skills but have always hoped to find time, space and the ability to make something finer.

Well, now I appear to have time and space - not sure whether I will ever develop the precision required but am willing to give it a go.

Thought I'd start with simple stuff - need to replace some chest of drawers and wardrobes and where they are going to be used, MDF is probably the material of choice (they are not going to get looked after as they will be in rental properties - so they just need to be functional and sturdy whilst not looking too industrial). Also have some kitchens I could move onto and after that, have aspirations for some 'proper' woodwork with real wood and stuff - but need to see how I go before I get too far ahead of myself.

Anyway, reason for this post: I see various posts raving about Domino's and the TS 55 circular saw and stuff and wonder whether my initial problems will be because I am a low skilled beginner or because I don't have the right tools. What I have accumulated in the past 30 years includes:
- A range of handtools, most 30-100 years old, none cherished or cared for
- A Stihl circular saw (I love it and with a batten clamped to a board as a guide, I think I can cut boards really well - but when I need precision, will it be good enough)
- A Bosch jigsaw (works / seems to do the job)