Mortice & tenon glue line thickness

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Louise-Paisley

Established Member
Reaction score
Humour me, I am new to all this :roll:

What sort of gap should be left for the glue when cutting a mortice and tenon in MDF?

The intention is to join parts end to end and instead of half laps I am thinking of using a mortice and tenon which will not really take a great deal more time using the woodrat, one of the reasons being as the parts make up a circular rim it would be easier to clamp up without the circle being distorted due to the fact that the M&T will help keep the part located in two dimensions if that makes sense

I have done a few M&T's with the woodrat (new toy) to practice with some bits of hardwood which turned out quite well - not absolutely perfect but pretty darn good compared to what I would end up with doing it the hard way! then I had only got the thing mounted on the wall an hour earlier so practice will improve that even more I think - but the fit was pretty tight, and I am assuming that with MDF there would be a good chance that the hydraulic pressure would blow the MDF apart.

Also the MDF soaks up the glue like it is going out of fashion, should I coat the MDF and let it suck it up then apply more before assembly or is it OK without?

OK! I wouldn't M&T mdf as it hasn't the strength - no fibrous grain like real wood, or even plywood. It might make more sense to insert loose tenons made of real wood (biscuits, dominos. make your own). Might make even more sense not to use mdf at all!

It does not really need a great deal of strength, the reason I am cutting the rims in four parts is (a) the outer diameter is bigger than the sheet, and (b) I can get upteen rims from one sheet if cut in quarters and, well, none if done in one part.