moisture content Help

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

radicalwood

Established Member
Reaction score
Help

This is where I start showing how little I know, and how much I have to learn. :oops: Only really used pine and some off cuts up to now.

So after buying the wood at the auction, what would be a typical moisture content I need to get the wood down to for it to become usable. As an engineer I don't have this problem with metal :lol: :lol: :lol: .

All assistance gratefully accepted and don't laugh too loud :D :D :D .

Also what would be a good cheep moisture meter.

Thanks, all the best

Neil

Neil,

No, no, this is where we all show how little we know... :wink:

Now I could have sworn we had not a bad thread on typical moisture contents for various applications, but blessed if I can find it. Although this thread will give you the heebie jeebies about what kind of trouble it can cause. Anyway, obviously worth typing them up again for the archive (Courtesy of the notes from a Materials Appreciation Course a friend of mine used to run, and with the benefit of having been written with British conditions in mind.):

22-15% Usual level for thoroughly air-dried timber, although 15% unlikely unless a long, dry summer (remember those?)
20% Dry rot safety line
16% Outdoor furniture
15% Joiners' work in new buildings, church work
14-12% Occasionally heated rooms
13-11% Normal heating including reasonable central heating
11-9% Continuous high degree central heating, offices etc
8% Radiator shelves etc

As far as a moisture meter goes, I've never owned one, but last I remember the Timber Check was considered pretty good.

Cheers, Alf

radicalwood":37srtprg said:
Help
As an engineer I don't have this problem with metal :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thanks, all the best

Neil
Never worked in a climate controlled room jig boring Neil?