MFT and large or small cuts

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Raymien

Established Member
Reaction score
I’m not a professional joiner, but I make radiator covers and other smaller pieces of furniture in my spare time. I want to build a new workbench in my double garage, and I want to incorporate an MFT style top to help with cutting square pieces of stock. I already have a track saw.
The table will be the size of a full sheet, however I’m in two minds whether I want to put dog holes in the whole top, or only a portion of it. I’m considering buying an MFT replacement top from a CNC company, and adding this to one side of the workbench, but I want to be sure I accommodate all my needs from the start.

To help me decide, I wondered if you guys with more experience of using an MFT could answer a few questions please:

1) Most of the stock I need to cut is in the region of <1200mm x 100-160mm. Am I correct in assuming anything larger than that will need dog holes down at least one length of the workbench too? To cut a piece that size from a full sheet of MDF for example?

2) How would I take a full 8’x4’ sheet, and cut a piece 1600x200mm accurately and squarely? Am I right in thinking I would need a rail longer than the standard 1400 festool one, and dog holes/dogs far enough apart to cut the width from the long side of the sheet at ~210mm. I then trim square on one edge, and then use these two square sides to cut the other two sides to the correct measurement? If so, would I not need dog holes >2440mm apart in order to fit the sheet in between them? Therefore my bench needs to be larger than a full sheet? Or am I missing something?

Depending on the number of times you need to cut 1600~2440 you have no need to use dog holes for accurate cutting.