Meranti double driveway gates

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SJ_Wood

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All ,

First post and first ‘proper’ project.
Driveway gates in Meranti.

I had planned on finishing with an Osmo colour but now favouring a stain or oil to preserve the lovely wood look.

However been slightly alarmed regarding Meranti and its Oily nature?

so some early replies I had from paint/stain/oil manufactures suggest I should weather the gates pre-treatment for upto 4 months?

looking for advice please from a complete newbie!

:)

meranti_1.PNG
meranti_2.PNG

Well first of all great looking gates, amazing results for a first proper project (y)

I haven't used Meranti for years, it's not actually that durable so make sure you use a decent product on them and keep on top of the maintenance.

The Sikkens range of stains are highly rated, I use their Cetol HLS as a basecoat and the Cetol Filter 7 as a topcoat.

Hi Doug, thanks have learnt a lot!

have been looking at the Sikkens range, seems popular

Lovely design. Wedged mortice and tenon joints as well. (y) Which side are the hinges going?

Be mindful of the gap between the t and g boards, they will swell quite a lot when they get wet. Nice gates though!

thanks Philip!

they are not finally assembled yet , too cold for the glue.

the t & g are butted together but have a couple of mm each side/end to ‘float’ , won’t be glued as they are captive 4 sides

should be ok ?

Last edited:
Lovely design. Wedged mortice and tenon joints as well. (y) Which side are the hinges going?

thanks !

this is a pair so swan necks meet in the middle at the high point

original design, bracing modified in the build;

F8081CA8-5E1D-4C9A-A34F-CBFCCC438E61.jpeg

Great. When I saw the photo i was not sure the diagonal support was positioned correctly. The drawing clearly shows that it is.