MDF Wall Paneling

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Woodythepecker

Established Member
Reaction score
I have been given some 25mm sheets of MDF by a friend who was going to turn it into wainscoting, and my question is would this be any good for paneling the walls of my workshop?
Also if i used mdf type screws would it hold wall cupboard or should i screw into the battens behind it?

Working in a cabinet makers workshop i am used to working with hardwoods and the equivalent veneered ply and so i have no experience with the strenght qualities of mdf.

Many thanks

Woody

25mm MDF is as heavy as hell and unless you are a masochist or plan to thin it a lot, see no merit in using it for panelling.

Woody - as I asked before, it would really assist answering your queries if you could give us sonme idea of the size of your shop and the nature of its construction too, for this kind of question. The first thing that springs to mind in trying to respond to you is "Why does he need panelling at all?

Woody the main concern I have about MDF in a workshop is that it has no resistance to moisture, why not sell or swap the MDF then if you want to panel the walls use t&g chipboard. As Chris said 25mm MDF weighs more than Hades. Topical Olympic reference :wink:

Keith

Chris wrote:
25mm MDF is as heavy as hell and unless you are a masochist or plan to thin it a lot, see no merit in using it for panelling.

Well i am certainly not a masochist but SWMBO has been called one for putting up with me.

Chris wrote:
Woody as i asked before, it would really assist answering your queries if you could give us some idea of the size of your shop and the nature of its construction too, for this kind of question. The first thing that springs to mind in trying to respond to you is "Why does he need panelling at all?