Matching Teak Finish

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

As a relative newbie I would appreciate advice from those who know more.

I am in the proses of making a book teak case to go in out dinning room. The main items in there already are our table and unit - made by Morris Glasgow in a teak finish. I'm shortly going to get the timber - teak faced ply and "real" teak facings for edges and door frames. What I would like is best finish to give a close match to the current furniture.

Many thanks

Hi Paul

Some more information please. Do you need to change the colour of the piece you're making? The items you already have, do you know what sort of finish is on them? If not, could you describe the finish (not an easy task I know)?

Thanks for the prompt initial comments.

The timber has not arrived yet so I'm not sure how its colour will compare with that of the existing furniture so i don't know if I will need to alter colour much.

The current furniture is a typical - to me - teak colour like much of the GPlan or Morris of Glasgow's teak furniture. Hope that helps - I've tried looking at there websites to show an example but none of the links from the Morris website work (http://www.morrisfurniture.co.uk/content.asp)

Hi Paul

Matching the colour might not be easy, depends how lucky you are, but is 'just' a case of applying stain.

What would be helpful would be to know what sort of finish (ie lacquer, wax) has been applied. Do you want your item to be glossy, matt, somewhere in between?

Hi Paul,