Making own kitchen worktops.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt1245

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm looking at making my own wooden worktops when we buy our new house. Rather than making them solid, i was thinking of making them from 30mm MRC then a 10mm solid iroko 'veneer' on top, (or 35mm and 5mm). Is this an acceptable way of doing it, or does anyone else have any other suggestions.

Cheers.
Matt.

Iroko... ewwww no, I have bad skin reaction even just coming into contact with the stuff.

I'm not an expert on here but there's lots of varied opinions about the stuff, especially allergies and working the wood. I'm sure you are going to get loads of advice.

Martin.

Iroko... ewwww no, I have bad skin reaction even just coming into contact with the stuff.

I've used a bit of iroko before and not had a bad reaction to it, but i know the dust can be nasty stuff, so i was very carefull.

I think it is used a lot for kitchen worktops tho.

Matt.

Probably just me, all I have to do is touch the stuff and I start to itch :)

Having said that most people are allergic to something, wouldn't be much left in the world if we removed everything that could cause allergies...

You 're going to have a potential problem with such a thick veneer bonded to a man-made board. The wood will try to move while the board is stable. The forces in a 10mm veneer will almost certainly cause it to split if it shrinks or buckle if it swells.

Aha!

Even while I'm typing this I've thought of the solution.

Allow a 10mm expansion gap at the back of the worktop and conceal this with a 20mm thick upstand siliconed to the wall.