Making a desk with folding legs

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trigger365

Reaction score
Hi all,

Total newbie here, so apologies for a couple of things first:

1. Some terminology
2. How rubbish an idea this may be

Ok, so what I want to achieve is a desk (just been told we're working from home another 5 months minimum!) that folds away and can be stored out of the way instead of using the kitchen desk all the time.

My (basic and probably terrible) idea is to create a desk top (old worktop from my mum) and 2 "H frame" table legs that fold inward. I've attached a basic drawing but I have a few questions and was hoping helpful souls out there can lend a hand. My questions are...

1. What type of wood should I use for the legs? Is CLS ok or should i opt for a harder wood?
2. The hinges that I want to use are table leg folding brackets - from Amazon (cant link yet) - are these ok to use?
3. When the legs fold inward I obviously want to make sure that they both sit "flat" on the underside of the desk which makes me think that I need to make them different sizes (the legs)? Is that correct, or is there a better way to do this?

I want the finished article to be around 750 tall hence the very basic measurements.

If you notice any other major flaws please let me know.

Its a project I want to take on myself, my mum has all the tools I would need I think, but I want to make sure I get the fundementals right before even attempting to start buying anything.

Thanks for any help, much appreciated. If anyone wants to do it instead and lives in Cornwall I can pay in Cider and hugs :p

Attachments

• IMG_7140.jpg
    IMG_7140.jpg
    67.7 KB · Views: 33
Or....Get two trestles and a flat cheap door from a DIY shed and Voila!

Strong, easy to take down. Use in summer for outdoor eating. Or as a workbench post lockdown.

Thanks for the reply