Mahogany Bath

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrpercysnodgrass

Established Member
Reaction score
IMG_0230.JPG

I have this bath panelling that needs stripping and refinishing. I'm not very experienced with modern finishes. Is there a quick drying water resistant finish that will apply by brush. The top section can be removed so I can do this in my workshop however the base section will have to be done on site and the job is an hour away from me so I want to restrict the travel time to a maximum of four hours.

Attachments

• IMG_0230.JPG
    IMG_0230.JPG
    96.6 KB · Views: 653
It feels wrong giving you advice, but I would suggest Rustin's Plastic Coating. Despite the odd name, it can look very good and is properly waterproof and hardwearing. Two part finish and hardener. Rustin's say it's dry in two hours.

https://www.rustins.ltd/rustins/our-pro ... ener-gloss

Do search on here too for quite a few good threads.

I seem to remember that Phil P (Pascoe?) is extremely knowledgable on this so either include him in the search or PM him. I think one of his posts was the reason I bought some to finish two boxes for 2 of my very young nieces - the finish being safe and very durable.

Thank you Andy and Glynne for those suggestions. I do have some rustins Plastic Coating which has been sitting on the shelf for the last five or six years. I bought two litres of it to do a job in that there London and it worked very well, I did then try it on a stripped piece and it did not work so well, i think because there were still traces of the old finish in the pores and that would be my fear with this job. I cant scrub the surface clean because it would ruin the patina!