Quantcast

Lidl / parkside tracksaw is back, even cheaper!!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

Rorschach

Agent Provocateur
Joined
6 Jan 2016
Messages
3,602
Reaction score
58
Location
Devon
It seems to fluctuate. I paid £59.99 for mine, the following year it was £69.99, now it's down again.
 

sammy.se

Established Member
Joined
3 Aug 2014
Messages
1,190
Reaction score
33
Location
London
Yes, I paid 69.99 last year. Didn't realize it was even cheaper at 59.99. what a bargain.

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
 

Rorschach

Agent Provocateur
Joined
6 Jan 2016
Messages
3,602
Reaction score
58
Location
Devon
I think I got mine about 3 years ago, it was the first time they sold them anyway, the store only got a few in stock and I was there at opening time along with a couple of other people. They sold quickly back then. In more recent sales I have seen them hanging around week later. I keep hoping to spot one at 30% off, I'll get another then.
 

Hlsmith

Established Member
Joined
2 Dec 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
0
Location
Dorking
It looks a little different from the one they had in the past
Not sure if that's why the price fluctuation
 

Rorschach

Agent Provocateur
Joined
6 Jan 2016
Messages
3,602
Reaction score
58
Location
Devon
Hlsmith":362g4p2k said:
It looks a little different from the one they had in the past
Not sure if that's why the price fluctuation
Does it? Looks the same as mine to me.
 

Hlsmith

Established Member
Joined
2 Dec 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
0
Location
Dorking
The hole for blade bold access is a different shape it's square in the pics on lidls site but every other picture I've seen it's not square
The older saws have a red piece of plastic at the top of the handle at the back the one on the lidl site doesn't and the black rubber grip is different
 

Rorschach

Agent Provocateur
Joined
6 Jan 2016
Messages
3,602
Reaction score
58
Location
Devon
Oh yes there are some cosmetic changes, I thought you were talking about features. My apologies.
 

Hlsmith

Established Member
Joined
2 Dec 2018
Messages
71
Reaction score
0
Location
Dorking
I just wondered if they are sourcing it from somewhere else I know that the older version is an einhell I just wondered if someone else was making it
 

Rorschach

Agent Provocateur
Joined
6 Jan 2016
Messages
3,602
Reaction score
58
Location
Devon
Probably just that the earlier versions were dipping their toe so they went for a plain re-badge. Now they know it's a popular tool they have splashed out a bit and had some cosmetic re-branding. Likely still the same stuff inside.
 

finish_that

Established Member
Joined
3 Nov 2014
Messages
136
Reaction score
0
Location
Reading UK
Rutlands plunge saw is the same, although Parkside came out with it a couple of years before Rutlands - 1/2 the price and 3 years warranty from Lidl .
 

Stevebod

Established Member
Joined
28 Feb 2016
Messages
138
Reaction score
0
Location
Knighton
..bizarre price, I have been quoted virtually the same amount just for an additional piece of track for my Aldi version!!!
 

PeteG

Established Member
Joined
9 Jun 2013
Messages
998
Reaction score
0
Location
Manchester
If it doesn't cut square out of the box, can you set it yourself? I believe the Aldi one has to be sent off...
 

sammy.se

Established Member
Joined
3 Aug 2014
Messages
1,190
Reaction score
33
Location
London
PeteG":1orpxi1k said:
If it doesn't cut square out of the box, can you set it yourself? I believe the Aldi one has to be sent off...
How you mean? Do you mean parallel to the track? Or the downward plunge cut?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
 

PeteG

Established Member
Joined
9 Jun 2013
Messages
998
Reaction score
0
Location
Manchester
sammy.se":whyb9mj4 said:
PeteG":whyb9mj4 said:
If it doesn't cut square out of the box, can you set it yourself? I believe the Aldi one has to be sent off...
How you mean? Do you mean parallel to the track? Or the downward plunge cut?

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
The plunge cut Sammy...When Peter Millard reviewed the Aldi one, there are two grub screws on the base plate that have to be factory set if,
it didn't cut square...
 

sammy.se

Established Member
Joined
3 Aug 2014
Messages
1,190
Reaction score
33
Location
London
Hmm, I thought mine were adjustable. I will have a look tonight. Maybe they changed the design (I hope not!!)

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
 

PeteG

Established Member
Joined
9 Jun 2013
Messages
998
Reaction score
0
Location
Manchester
sammy.se":38a046at said:
Hmm, I thought mine were adjustable. I will have a look tonight. Maybe they changed the design (I hope not!!)

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
Appreciated Sammy :D I've been trying to find out if how the Titan one is set for square. It'd be nice if it's as easy as the Festool...
 

sammy.se

Established Member
Joined
3 Aug 2014
Messages
1,190
Reaction score
33
Location
London
Yes, it's adjustable - two grub screws, front and back, for fine square adjustment.



Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
 

PeteG

Established Member
Joined
9 Jun 2013
Messages
998
Reaction score
0
Location
Manchester
sammy.se":4m4w3h58 said:
Yes, it's adjustable - two grub screws, front and back, for fine square adjustment.
Much appreciated Sammy :D Does it have a scribe cut button or marker? Sorry for all the questions :D I can't decide between this or the Titan, although I had decided on the Titan before finding out about this one yesterday.
 
Top