Quantcast
  • We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Leopard wood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

La Truciolara

Established Member
Joined
28 May 2005
Messages
162
Reaction score
0
Location
Verona - Italy
I was given a piece of Leopard Wood.
It was not really pleasant to turn (not a lot of shavings, but rather plenty of "dust", may be because the wood was too dry ??!!??).
But the finish is really marvellous !
Do you know another name for Leopard wood? May be the Latin name so that I could try to find some here in Italy?
Many thanks in advance

 

Argee

Established Member
Joined
2 Feb 2005
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
12
Location
Crowborough, East Sussex
The Latin name is PIRATINERA GUIANENSIS (synonym is brosimum guianensis) - it's a member of the moraceae (mulberry) family. Hope that helps.

Ray.
 

Noel

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
7 Aug 2003
Messages
6,538
Reaction score
248
Also called Snakewood.

Noel
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
72
Location
Cotswolds UK
La Truciolara":1ufcevwf said:
Thank you Ray and Noel.
Now I'm able to search the web and know more about it
A reference source that you might find useful in future:
You may need to follow the appropriate links turned up by the initial search to find specific information you need but there is a wealth of information here.

http://www.ars-grin.gov/cgi-bin/npgs/html/taxgenform.pl
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
72
Location
Cotswolds UK
MikeW":3h2qrxua said:
Hi Everyone,

Here's one of the decent source I have when I want to see pictures (which can vary significantly) of different woods.

http://www.hobbithouseinc.com/personal/woodpics/

I imagine this may take a while to load if you are on dial-up.
Mike I agree one of the best sites, but can you access that site? I have a link to it from my wood suppliers listing but have not been able to connect to it or find an alternate server for about three weeks.

EDIT: the nearest I can resolve it is to: 72.22.69.19 who is this according to NetworkSolutions.
 

MikeW

Established Member
Joined
15 Apr 2005
Messages
1,933
Reaction score
0
Location
Forest Grove, Oregon USA
Hi Chas,
Yep, I just did to confirm. Even on dsl it is slightly slow though.

I also use the following books:
A Guide to the Useful Woods of the World
World Woods in Color
The Wood Book (NA woods only)

Here are a couple others, though none have the pictures of the woods (that I can remember):

Info by scientific names, fairly extensive
http://www.biologie.uni-hamburg.de/b-online/wood/english/index.htm

Info by scientific names, fairly extensive, PDFs
http://wwww.cirad.fr/activites/bois/en/fiches.html

Info by scientific names, fairly extensive
http://www.windsorplywood.com/tropical_woodspage.html
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
72
Location
Cotswolds UK
MikeW":2isn6by4 said:
Hi Chas,
Yep, I just did to confirm. Even on dsl it is slightly slow though.
I guess that my browser is just timing out on my system because I am on dial-up. Will have to try and reconfigure longer 'wait' time.

Thanks for the other refs.
 

MikeW

Established Member
Joined
15 Apr 2005
Messages
1,933
Reaction score
0
Location
Forest Grove, Oregon USA
CHJ":4ujrmpod said:
...
EDIT: the nearest I can resolve it is to: 72.22.69.19 ...who is this [/url] according to NetworkSolutions.
Hi Chas, the owner of the domain is a Visual Basic programmer who has an interest in woodworking, mainly wood turning of laminated/segmented bowls.

He does cut veneers for sale in order to pay for his site.

His VB site is:
http://hobbithouseinc.com/VB/
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
72
Location
Cotswolds UK
Something strange going on with my Default ISP (NTL :evil: :evil: ) No problems connecting to hobbithouseinc via two other ISP's but NTL will not connect? maybe they are blocking JAVA content.

At least I now know it is not my machines or setup.
 

MikeW

Established Member
Joined
15 Apr 2005
Messages
1,933
Reaction score
0
Location
Forest Grove, Oregon USA
CHJ":jz9scuq8 said:
Something strange going on with my Default ISP (NTL :evil: :evil: ) No problems connecting to hobbithouseinc via two other ISP's but NTL will not connect? maybe they are blocking JAVA content.

At least I now know it is not my machines or setup.
Hi Chas, It is a pretty clean site looking at the source code--except he does have a Java applet counter at the top of the page.

If all you get is a blank page, you could try forcing a reload after intially trying to view the site. There's one site I frequent which for whatever reason I have to do this every time I go to it.

It is also possible NTL has blocked it for some other reason too.
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
72
Location
Cotswolds UK
waterhead37":56fo8fg2 said:
Chas,
You could ty reinstalling java from Sun's site http://www.java.com/en/download/manual.jsp
Thanks Chris had already done that in case my installation was corrupt when my son informed me that there was Java content.

Hi Mike refresh, clean cache etc. all to no avail still can't get it via NTL, according to my NetMeter monitor of traffic through my firewall/server there is no response to my request for package. With ISP Global for instance, there is an immediate response and download at the max of my wet string dial-up.

Think will have to up the frustration factor with NTL to see if pocket money will stretch to BB, But not with NTL.
Global use the D-Link DSL-504T Ethernet Router at reasonable price wich would do for me.
 

La Truciolara

Established Member
Joined
28 May 2005
Messages
162
Reaction score
0
Location
Verona - Italy
:D :D :D
every time i see a new post in Woddturning I'm full of hopes about learning...
What a great thread on computers... this is a new science for me. The advantage of turning with graphic programs is that there is absolutely no shavings nor dust... Cleaning the lathe is simple... :D :D :D
 

Alf

Established Member
Joined
22 Oct 2003
Messages
12,079
Reaction score
0
Location
Up the proverbial creek
Chas, I'm having the same trouble with Tesco.net, which is of course NTL in all but name. Dunno why; I used to be able to get on there with no trouble too. :(

Cheers, Alf
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
72
Location
Cotswolds UK
Alf":2x9tsfhp said:
Chas, I'm having the same trouble with Tesco.net, which is of course NTL in all but name. Dunno why; I used to be able to get on there with no trouble too. :(

Cheers, Alf
This is not unusual for NTL, over the years it has happened before when the company has had a spat with some USA corporation on costings, routings etc. I had four USA based ex colleauges who I could not mail from NTL for 2 years and had to use alternate ISP!!.
 

Latest posts

Top