Laser Engraver

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnny65

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

Anyone got any experience with laser engraver routers.
Recommendations, how they work etc.

Cheers John.

Really comes down to what you want to be able to do with it, to some extent if it's for Hobby or Business use & what sort of budget you have. As with most things there is also a learning curve which can be quite steep if you have no experience of either the machines or the software used. There is however plenty of places you can learn these days which helps a lot.

I was an engineering cnc machine tool programmer, if I can understand the software I should be ok, principles should be the same.

you say laser engraver & router - are you after a cnc machine? what are you trying to do?

What do you want to make?
I had the use of a Laser cutter engraver when i worked as a school D&T technician, I used it nearly every day.
First thing to know there are two basic types of Co2 Laser commonly available, DC watercooled & RF air cooled. All the cheap chinese lasers are the former, Laser Tube life is often very short, weeks or months typically 1000 hours max though some may go a lot longer.
We had a Lotus laser systems 30w RF air cooled machine, the laser tube is metal cored & can be regassed when its spent, tube life is 10,000 hours or more, downside is they are considerably more expensive.
A cheap out of the box chinese machine will often require tons of work before it can be used. Most come with a aluminium honeycomb bed & these are prone to catching fire. A Knife edge bed is easier to clean & safer!