Laptop Hard Drive

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Woodythepecker

Established Member
Reaction score
I have been using my sons Packard Bell ( XP Home Edition)laptop which has only got 2gb's of its 20gb hard drive left.

I am a complete novice when it comes to computers and as i want to upgrade the hard drive, i hope that someone can point me in the right direction.

So far i have learnt that i have 3 ways to improve this situation.

The first being to remove and install a bigger hard drive. If i took this route what would be the biggest drive i could fit?, What sort of speed (4,200rpm, 7,200rpm) should i go for and as there is not much room inside a laptop would it be a wise move to get a pro to install it?

Secondly there is a external hard drive with USB2 connection. Can i connect any external drive to the laptop or do i have to buy a special one. I might have got this wrong, but i am sure that i read in the instruction manual to Norton internet security and in System Works 2005 that these programs will not cover external drives, does this sound right?

Finally someone told me that the best and cheapest way would be to get a ordinary pc INTERNAL hard drive and install it in one of the empty boxes you can buy. This would then be connected to the laptop externally (How?) but would act as a internal drive. Would this option be any good?

Any advice or other options would be welcome.

Regards

Woody

Hi DW

an external drive carrier should just connect with a USB or Firewire cable

http://www.span.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=20_33