Kity 1637 Planer/ Thicknesser stripdown.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bradley

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, this is my 1st post so be gentle. I'm just starting out with woodworking and I've bought a Kity 1637 planer that needs a little work to bring it up to scratch. I want to strip it back to give it a good clean and lubrication and to clean up the cutter block that has been left to go a bit rusty while it's been sat unused. I'm after any helpful advice from anyone who may have undertaken something similar and if there is anything specific to this machine that I should look out for. Do they need to come apart in any particular order?

Any help would be greatfully received.

Thanks, Rob.

Have you looked on Youtube ? There are videos there of "Kity thicknesser planer" and they are probably similar in build to the 1637.

I have it's bigger brother the 638 they are very similar. I'm not sure why you are thinking this needs to be fully stripped and rebuilt. Unless you can find a particular problem I would have thought a thorough check of everything would be a good way to go and deal with issues that come along.

A few ideas come to mind. Firstly make sure the beds are not cracked or distorted as if they are, and given they are an alloy, you should deal with this first as if you can't remedy the fault you could be looking to get a another machine as these parts are extremely rare if not impossible to replace. The bed adjusters are robust and would benefit from cleaning, freeing off and lubrication. After this set up the beds for flatness (look at The Wood Whispers YouTube video for setting up your Planner for guidance).