Joining aluminium tube.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skipdiver

Established Member
Reaction score
I need to join some ali tube and would welcome suggestions as to the best way to approach this as i am a novice in all things metal. The join can be permanently fixed one side but needs to be detachable the other. I was thinking of plastic tube joiners, which you can buy with metal inserts for strength but i can only track down one company that does the size i require and they will only sell me 700 at a pound each, so that rules them out.

My preferred option is a piece of tube inside the main tube, i think it's known as a splice from what i can gather. The guy who fabricates them for me now uses this method but the piece he uses to join them has clearly been turned down on a lathe to a snug fit and i don't have that facility. The tube in question is 1 3/8" diameter 16g, which is 34.9mm OD and the inside diameter is something like 31.6mm. I have some 1 1/4" tube and it is a tad too big to slide inside, so the next option is 30mm OD, which i think may be a tad too sloppy. Is there any way i can slightly increase the OD with some kind of tape or shrink sleeving maybe? Alternatively, is there an easy way to slightly reduce the OD of the 1 1/4" without a lathe.

I have been frantically googling for days and am none the wiser as metalwork is a steep learning curve for me. Any help most gratefully received.

what is it being used for? How strong does the join need to be?

It doesn't need to be that strong. The bars i get fabricated now are joined with a piece of tubing about 6 inches long but of a heavier gauge than the 16g main tube , so that is sufficient for my needs.They are attached with 5mm machine screws.

I could ask them for advice but i doubt they would be happy to help me with taking business away from them.