Jet VBS18MW Vertical Metal Cutting Bandsaw - opinions Please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ali

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, when it comes to metal machining, I am a novice so need some help on what will be an expensive and difficult undertaking to add metal machining capabilitities to my home workshop.

I plan on buying a small mini type mill too at some point, but at this moment I am looking at the Jet VBS18 Bandsaw - the version with the ability to cut both wood and metal (http://www.axminster.co.uk/jet-vbs18mw- ... ng-bandsaw) and would appreciate if you could give the specs a once over and give me your opinions. Obviously I'd love anyone with first hand experience of the bandsaw to comment but it doesn't seem to be a popular model :(

I only have the space for a bandsaw of this size, nothing more industrial or older unfortunately. I was half considering a wood bandsaw like the Record Power BS400 (following Bob's ace review) but as I plan on only buying one bandsaw for life for all my needs, am willing to push the boat out next year for this.

My uses for metal machinining would be machine frame making (e.g. aluminum extrusion cutting, corner plate cutting, tool holder cutting), tool making and die making. I have looked into where to buy billet type material of aluminium, stainless steel and tool steel and always struggled with how to cut stock down to size for use on the mill but hope this might be a solution?

I would also hope to use the bandsaw for wood working too. Please let me know what you think as I'll have to beg, steal and borrow for such a bandsaw and can't afford for it to be a great white elephant! :oops: :oops:

See other thread in this section which asks basically the same question. 'Fraid I'd give the same answer - it's not a good idea to mix wood and metalworking in one machine. But that's just my opinion.