Japanese plane blades from Dick

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dh7892

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

This is my first post but I have been lurking for a few weeks and this seems like a very informative forum.

I'm pretty new to woodworking and my particular interest is in guitar building but I'd be happy to turn my hand to other tasks as and when I get the opportunity/need.

So, my question: has anyone here had any experience with the japanese plane blades from Dick. I'm thinking about making a wooden jointer plane from a long bit of maple that is left over from my current guitar build and I really like the look of the Japanese style blades with metal pin rather than a wooden block to hold the blade.

Any comments on these blades would be appreciated.

Thanks

dh7892":1n90gvqc said:
So, my question: has anyone here had any experience with the japanese plane blades from Dick. I'm thinking about making a wooden jointer plane from a long bit of maple that is left over from my current guitar build and I really like the look of the Japanese style blades with metal pin rather than a wooden block to hold the blade.

Thanks

Using a pin (and wedge) to hold the blade (as opposed to a wedge in abutments, or a lever cap) is not particularly Japanese. The Romans did it, and so does the well known "Krenov" plane design.

BugBear

Sure, I probably didn't really explain myself well. I included the bit about the pin so that people would know which type of Japanese blades I was talking about since the page on Dick's website includes "Japanese" blades that are shaped in the more usual western style with a slot for the chip breaker screw.

I'm not really sure why I've got it in my head to try one like that since I'm not really planing to make a Japanese style pull plane but I just prefer the shape of these blades (going by looks only).