Is my router good enough?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Parbynat

Established Member
Reaction score
The router in question is a Bosch pof 1200 router.
I have tried this router which is attached to a table on 2 different bits with minimal success.
The 2 bits, are a tongue and groove set measuring 45mm in diameter.
The groove cutter is workable on speed 4 from 6 but the tongue cutter which is doing twice the work is just a nightmare as the bit just labours even at a very slow feed rate.
The cut depth to the bearing is around 10mm so I tried to take 50% of the material but it doesn't seem happy even with that.
I'm aware that this is a cheapish router, am I better upgrading?
Thanks
Parbynat

For that large a bit, i would be looking at a 2kw machine rather than the 1200 you have.

I'm just starting out with this new hobby, I probably should have researched more before buying. Do you have any recommendations for a suitable router?

There are plenty of good makes available and fans of each on here, who will sing their praises. For myself, I chose to use Triton routers. I have one of each of the 3 sizes they offer with the largest (TRA001) being used as a permenant install in my large router table 2400W. The middle size MOF001 is 1400W and is used for the majority of my large handheld working and the JOF001 1010W for light duty work. I also have a couple of Katsu clones of the Makita 700F (700W) one fitted in a small router table and one in a plunge base for small work piece trimming and shaping.
I chose them (triton) as they have a built in mechanism that allows the user to adjust the height of the bit from above the table without having to invest in an expensive lift. It suits my needs and met my cost/features ratio and have safety features and easy change mechanism that suits how I work.

Also look at Trend, Festool, Makita

hth