Is a cheap grinder a false economy?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Weasel Howlett

Established Member
Reaction score
For my first lathe setup im going to need a grinder to sharpen my tools. Im not going to be doing hours of work a day just a few evenings a week.

What grinder is best on a budget? As far as i can make out i need to get one with a lighter grit wheel so i dont just grind my tools away to nothing.

Ive seen the AWBGDL pretty cheaply.
http://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-axminster-awbgdl-wide-stone-grinder-prod789070/

Is this a good option or should i go for somthing else?? Maybe somthing with a whetstone??? Im new to grinders so realy have no clue.

All advise gladly recieved.

Not sure if it bang same but that looks like the one I have. Purchased from axminster about 6-7 years ago and the do change models etc but it was in the same price bracket. Mine is still going strong but does take a while to stop [do bench grinders fall into the 10 sec rule]. Stops in about 12 mins not sec :lol:

I think the bottom line is how much use it will get.

That grinder looks good to me 8) Mine is far cheaper looking than that!!! You can spend big bucks on sharpening but its not a necessity. Some form of grinding jig would be massively helpful to you also, I've got the Axminster 'Storme' one its relatively cheap and does the job.

As a new starter, there is nothing wrong with a basic dry grinder, as long as it runs smoothly the quality of the white oxide 80/100 grit wheel is of more relevance.
I'm still using grinders using very low budget motors, fitted with both original white wheels and different grade after market wheels.

Although a wet grinder will give a finer cutting edge they will come with the penalty of rapid wear shaping and sharpening HSS turning tools, more so for a new turner.

andyoaks":35vqhx5z said: