Intro of newbie

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lanemaux

In Memorium
Reaction score
Hi all, Mike the newbie here. Thought the off topic chat might be the place to intro myself to the more learned , longer period enrolled in the UK wood scene. I am a Canuck from the colonies who is most interested in the hand tool scene.This is a hobby for myself and my daughter that we can share. My daughter is Delayed in development and would fare poorly with the noise and possible danger inherent in the power tooled shop. Darn few life threatening plane accidents. We are also both quite happy to take our time rehabbing old rusty tools and clever gadgetry. My other interests probably would not interest others so much, so I will resist the urge to bore people with them. Not much else to say then . Looking forward to many happy conversations with you all, just check the hand tool section and you will likely find me pickin through the wisdom of others to try and build a store of my own. Hope I can manage it, I could sure use some .

Hi Mike, welcome to you and your daughter to the forum. It is a friendly place to be!

My use of hand tools is mainly concerned with hand held gouges on a lathe, a fascinating and fairly quiet way of getting to cut wood. A pole lathe would be a very quiet, user friendly way of getting things done just using your own power.

My excuse is that pushing a plane really upsets the arthritis in my hands. Wacking a chisel with a mallet isn't a problem, but even push/pull a hand saw sets bells ringing.

Good luck with your work and I hope that your daughter gets as much enjoyment out of working with wood as you probably do and as most of us on here definitely do! :D

lanemaux":37czdaa5 said:
My other interests probably would not interest others so much, so I will resist the urge to bore people with them.