individuals turning threads?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ridethewave

Established Member
Reaction score
While I am new to turning and this forum I would like to make a suggestion that I have seen and participated in on another forum(not woodworking but another hobby(reefkeeping)).
Basically people have a buid thread or turning journey thread where they show where they started and show occasionally how they are getting on and what they have learn't and mistakes made.
they show their setup and discuss their working practices etc.
This builds from week to week into a journey of discovery that can be followed and learnt from. advice offered and questions put.
I found that this can build enthusism and understanding into improving how we do things.

The downfalls to this type of thread can be things like people asking for help in their jouney thread instead of starting a new thread and linking to it.
Also chatter like I'm off for a coffee now.

To give you an idea...
A jouney thread might start with saying that you're planning on installing a lathe in your shed showing photos of the install and general layout of your workspace.
continuing on to show pieces that we've turned, upgrades and why etc

I would love to read the journey that you've done and learn from your mistakes before I repeat them myself.

John

Gallery additions. the quest for me time by chas is a journey type thread.... and my favourite :D

Ridethewave":zg6ju180 said:
I would love to read the journey that you've done and learn from your mistakes before I repeat them myself.

John
The main problem as I see it is that folks prefer to raise their own blogs or Facebook pages rather than post on forums.

If you want a warts and all journey start at the One small step Link in this list