I'm a cyclist.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
There is no obligation to read this post so please ignore and all I can do is apologise for it's length.

No doubt I'll offend many people by saying this but as someone who held an ADI certificate for well over 30 years and instructed on a daily basis over that time period, my experience of other drivers was that probably only 10% of all drivers on our roads actually fully understand/understood what driving correctly actually means or completely comprehends/understand the consequences of their actions if they deviated from what was the correct thing to do and I suspect that it's a similar percentage figure with regard to cyclists.

As an instructor I not only had to contend with tutoring novice drivers on how to negotiate busy town/city driving which can be quite hairy at times but my biggest threat without doubt both in town and on the open roads wasn't from the novices, they were easy to control, it was from those who were termed experienced drivers who were the real danger.
I was lucky if during an eight-ten hour working day if I hadn't to step in with the controls or take evasive action at least half a dozen times to avoid what would be an either serious or potentially fatal collision with so called experienced motorists who failed to behave appropriately.
During my working day I would encounter dozens of situations caused by other road users where I'd have to step in to prevent minor collisions. It was just part of my job and I found that a high percentage of drivers simply couldn't be trusted to mover off or emerge from a junction safely. It's mind boggling to even contemplate that some had licences.