Hydrotherapy pool timber base project.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Czar

Reaction score
Hello, I am a complete novice to the world of woodworking, wood specie, soft & hard woods, their structural grades and intended construction use for the specie chosen for a particular construction role.

The reason I am writing this, is to share and hopefully offer awareness from my somewhat nieve blindness and trusting faith in timber suppliers, their knowledge and understanding of timber and chemical treatments, after all they are supposed to know what they are selling, and the advice given, right ? You'd think so, in my case, sadly not, what you want from the timber for the particular construction role, and my very first construction attempt.

This is my very first effort at any type of timber construction, thankfully nothing that is going to hurt anybody.

At the beginning of the year, I decided for my dogs health, to purchase a self contained Hydrotherapy pool, (hot tub without seats) once I had the dimensions and weights, I set about turning my garden into a building site, I must say this before anyone says, concrete, I do NOT like concrete, especially concrete bases, so armed with a head full of ideas, I decided that I wanted a finish base height level with my remaining lawn, this meant I had to dig down to lay a foundation base to support a timber frame base.

Let the digging commence.

image.jpg3_4.jpg

This is where the first of the issues dawned upon me, the timber will be below surrounding garden level, so with that realisation, I knew whatever type of timber I ordered would need protecting, anyway on with digging.