Quantcast

Hexagon Wine Rack

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

Ryandotdee

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello, first time posting a project, any feedback would be welcomed. I just saw a post from PeteG on some hexagon shelves, and as it was similar to what I had made this weekend I thought I would share it as well.

The body is made from Ash, and the interior rack and keys are american walnut. I am very new to working with hardwoods, I have only recently moved up from cobbling things together from wood bought from Homebase. It is really rewarding, but also alot more costly when I make mistakes!

Originally I wanted to make the rack hold 7 bottles, but my measuring was a bit off so I had to suffice with 5.

IMG-20190811-WA0023.jpeg

2.jpeg

3.jpeg

Attachments

Fitzroy

All the gear...
Reaction score
I like that. How did you ensure all the mitres came up tight, they look good and accurate along the whole depth of the unit.

Fitz.

PeteG

Established Member
Reaction score
Very nice fella, I love the Butterfly joints, something I've never attempted. Don't worry about the
mistake, it happens, and you'll forget about it soon enough.

Eric The Viking

Established Member
Reaction score
Bristle, CUBA (the County that Used to Be Avon)
Really nice.

A while back I attempted an octagonal tray, with finger joints. I succeeded (sort-of) with a jig for the router table, but it was a huge headache getting it to work properly, and the result was nothing like as nice as I'd hoped. Those butterfly splines ('keys'?) are pretty impressive!

If that's a 'first go' in hardwood, you have a bright future!

E.

Ryandotdee

Established Member
Reaction score
Fitzroy":ntej85hn said:
I like that. How did you ensure all the mitres came up tight, they look good and accurate along the whole depth of the unit.

Fitz.