Help which type of Router jig should I buy

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Can anyone please help me I am just starting out in routing and I have purchased a Triton router.
I want to carry out mortic & tennon, and dove tail joints, which is the best jig to buy leigh, trend or the woodrat :p

[email protected]

Best Regards

A new starter

Hi Sbryce
Never mind guest :eek: , why not join :?: , A lot of help and a bit of fun aswell.
I think it will depend on how much you will use them, I don`t use the router that much for m&t joints so I just use a simple home made jig, If you tell us how much you will use them Iam sertain some body can help.
Mick B

he already has :D , Sbryce emailed me lastnight and I suggested he posted here to get some more suggestions.

Well, if Charley is going in to bat for the Leigh, it looks like I shall have to promote the 'Rat. But first the mandatory slagging off of the enemy. :wink:

The Leigh won't do mortice and tenons.
The Leigh needs an additional template to do finger joints, at a cost of over 250 quid.
The Leigh has to have special cutters.
The Leigh will take up bench space when you use it.
The Leigh isn't capable of doing mitred dovetails.
Or moulding edges.
Or raising panels.
Or pin routing.
Or... well, the list goes on and on doesn't it? (Why did you buy it, Chaz?!
Finally, if you're feeling patriotic, the Leigh isn't British. :(

The Woodrat will do all those joints that the Leigh can't.
You can use any router cutter you like.
It hangs on the wall ready to use, but out of the way.
It's a British invention. :D