Help wanted to cut openings

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

philfoot

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all

I am a bit of a newbie to all this, and hope my question is not stupid.

I want to be able to do a particular job. This is with a piece of 3mm hardboard measuring 12"x24"approx. I want to cut a square/oblong hole about 6"x6" / 7"x5" that sort of size. This will be in the centre/off centre.

I want neat edges, I want to be able to do it fast, and i want a machine that will be easy to use and set up, and preferably cheap to buy, and small. Production numbers will be low, perhaps 20+ a week if lucky.

Anyone any ideas what would be the best way of doing it, and what equipment you reccomend.

Your help would be valuable.

Thank, kind regards

Phil Allen :?:

A router springs to mind with a suitable template, but you will end up with slightly rounded corners. You could square these up with a chisel. Otherwise I'm guessing it's a jigsaw of somekind.

Phil
You need a router with a 1/4 cutter and a guide bush. Many small routers come with a 17mm bush, but the size is not critical.

Make a template from 12mm MDF. It needs to have a square hole in the middle as big as your required opening, plus a little bit to take into account the difference between the edge o your bit and the guide bush. One way to make this hole dead true is to rip off a length of MDF the required width, cross-cut it and open the two pieces by the required length. Glue two more pieces, one on each side so that you end up with your opening. This can all be done on the tablesaw so you get nice straight edges.