Help me get square!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi everyone, newbie here. Home workshop but well stocked with tools and machinery. I’ve stopped buying S4S and started buying rough cut Sapele 2.5m timbers.
Despite making a sled for the good quality table saw, I’m struggling to get a perfectly straight edge.
I have a jointer/planer but the infeed table is only 14” long, not enough for big timber.
Any ideas which will help.

All contributions welcome and appreciated.

Hi everyone, newbie here. Home workshop but well stocked with tools and machinery. I’ve stopped buying S4S and started buying rough cut Sapele 2.5m timbers.
Despite making a sled for the good quality table saw, I’m struggling to get a perfectly straight edge.
I have a jointer/planer but the infeed table is only 14” long, not enough for big timber.

Main thing is to cut your timber to size (plus margin for planing) from the cutting list and only then try to square it up and plane, piece by piece.
It's much easier
A lot of beginners think you square it up first from long pieces, like the PAR or S4S you can buy, but you don't.
In fact it's beginner mistake no 1!

As Jacob says - cut it close to finished length.

sawn Sapele won’t have straight, parallel edges, so you need to get a straight edge to start - tracksaw or circular saw and a straight edge.

sawn hardwood will be sawn, then kiln dried so the boards will have bows, cups and twists.

So start by getting 1 straight edge, then use table saw to do a parallel rip.