Hello from a West Midlands Lass

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sirenity

Established Member
Reaction score
Well hello,
I've been a member for a while, but I'm such a total newbie, that I've not posted much at all, just been looking and learning, until today and the EV threads, so having jumped in all over a thread, I thought it was about time I introduce myself.

I'm a life long lover of all things maker, but with the exception of stereotypically "women's" needlework, knitting etc. possess very little skill other than basic DIY which I've been responsible for my whole life.

I've acquired basic tools over the years (starting with self-bought mothers day presents when my lovely but distracted ex constantly forgot that his children had a mother as well as he did, so I went out and bought myself a power-tool every year until my kids were old enough to start making me things). But I never had a space to set up a workshop.

Fast-forward to lockdown and an enforced early retirement due to a spinal cord injury and I've rented a neighbours workshop garage, when her husband passed away. I've a few of his tools, a space for mine and a newly found love of finding "treasure" in the form of renovation projects and vintage tools.

I was most excited by the acquisition of a pillar drill - something I've always wanted and never had room for and a £10 tip shop rescue of a arts and crafts book case/bureau that will be my first "last thing I made" posting when I have learned enough to tackle it's repair.

Anyone nearby who wants a hand with any projects in return for me looking and learning, I'd be more than happy to spend an exchange day!

If anyone wants to pop over and advise on workshop set-up/laugh at the current chaos, you would be very welcome.