Hello, and some questions

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hello. My name is Matt, and I have been lurking around this forum for a little while now. I have signed up because I am just starting out with woodworking and this forum is one of the most informative I have come across. I am posting my introduction in hand tools because I don't really own any power tools (and don't have any plans to buy any soon). The reason for this is because I have very limited space to work, and need to be fairly quiet when I am working. I also love the look of hand tools and the idea of making stuff with them.

Questions:
I recently bought a set of 4 Narex chisels from Lee Valley and have been using the Scary Sharp method for sharpening them. After I have flattened the back and made my primary bevel, do I start with roughest sandpaper for the secondary bevel? or do I start from a higher grit (such as 600 or 800)? Would I also start with this higher grit when I am removing the burr?

One of my other purchases was a Veritas 5 1/4 (I kind of regret not just buying a 4, but I liked the 5 1/4 when I was flattening out the top of my bench). When I am sharpening the blade I heard you want to slightly round it to avoid tearing the edges of the wood. Are you supposed to only round out the blade on the secondary bevel? or do you do it on the primary bevel? Also (since this is my only plane) I was wondering what type I should buy next. I am leaning towards a block plane since that seems the most all around useful.

There are so many more questions I have to ask but I can't manage think of them right now. Anyway, thanks in advance for your comments and answers. I know I will be learning a lot from all of you (and bugging you in the mean time).

matt... welcome aboard...

stick around, you'll get some fine answers real soon.. :wink: