Hardwood suppliers, drivable distance to Oxford.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jamesevenlode

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm looking for a recommendation of a few hardwood suppliers within a drivable (up to around 100 miles each way) distance of Oxford.

I'm an instrument builder, so I have the usual luthier wood suppliers already (Touchstone, David Dyke, Exotic Hardwoods UK Ltd etc).
I want to be able to go to a supplier and root around in their stock and pull out interesting pieces that I might be able to season for instrument building.
I can process woods here so happy to buy large boards.

Particularly interested in honduran mahogany, spruce (sitka, adirondack, alpine), zebrano, american walnut, ebony, rosewoods, snakewood, koa, figured maple (flame, quilt, burl) and general anything that is striking and heavily figured.

Cheers.

Thanks folks, this is all very helpful.

100 miles isn't a hard limit- I sometimes drive down to David Dyke's which is 250 miles round trip.

With a shopping list like that Timberline is pretty much the only show in town. But even there you'll need to be realistic. I know plenty of furniture makers that drive a regular circuit of yards, they'll have been tipped off when an interesting delivery happens and be there soon after it's arrived. So don't expect stupendous quality across every timber species because the majority of the stock has been well picked through already. What you can reasonably look forward to however is getting to see the one or two deliveries that have arrived in the past few weeks, and provided you're flexible you'll nearly always drive away with a couple of real gems.

Good luck!

RobinBHM":upm10ne1 said:
Timbmet in oxford were stocking some rare timber recovered from a flooded lake.

Might be of interest?

http://www.galleryshowroom.co.uk/produc ... ermet.html